Traditional Victoria Sandwich Cake

image

I’ve had a cookery book since I was at school. It’s got some great 80’s recipes in it and I passed my O Level in Food and Nutrition with its recipe for Toddy Cake!

It is the book I always go to for my Victoria Sandwich Cake as it’s a quick and easy recipe and never fails me.

The recipe is a basic 6, 6, 6, 3.

Cream six ounces of butter with six ounces of caster sugar. I like to beat in my Kenwood whilst getting the rest of the ingredients together. Add three eggs, little by little and 6 ounces of self raising flour. I always add a little vanilla essence in too.

Split evenly between two 7 inch sandwich tins and bake for about 18 minutes (190 degrees). Leave to cool in the tins for a few minutes before turning out onto a cooling rack.

This evening I filled this one with blueberry compote, strawberries and cream. Sprinkled with some caster sugar. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

