Mary Berry’s Banana Loaf

We watched Julie & Julia with Meryl Streep last night and I was inspired to do more baking …. I have hundreds of recipes collected through books and the internet but more recently through my Wedding Paraphernalia Pinterest page.

However, to get me started I reached for the tried and tested recipe from Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes and Bakes book that I got for Christmas three years ago and threw together her Banana Loaf recipe, ready for Tony to take to work tomorrow.

Banana Loaf - Mary Berry Receipe

Now normally this comes out lovely; crispy top and well risen. Of course it wouldn’t today though would it!  It’s got a flat top!!!! Could this be down to the fact that I didn’t use Dr Oetker’s Baking Powder or because I decided to use the fan oven and not conventional – answers below please! Whatever it looks like, will let you know what they [Sign Supply] say when they taste it tomorrow.

Recipe:

100g (4oz) butter
175g (6oz) caster sugar
2 large eggs
2 ripe bananas mashed
225g (8oz) self-raising flour
1 level tsp baking powder
2 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C / Fan 160 degrees C or Gas 4. Lightly grease and line a 900g (2lb) loaf tin (I always use tin liners).

Measure all ingredients into a mixing bowl and whisk for two minutes until well blended; use either an electric mixer or by hand. Spoon into prepared tin and level the surface.

Bake for about an hour or until well risen and golden brown. If you insert a skewer into the centre of the cake, it should come out clean.

Leave the cake in the tin for a few minutes to cool down and then turn out onto your wire rack and remove the parchment paper.

Allow to cool completely before cutting into thick slices to serve – yeah like it’s going to be allowed to cool completely!

Typing out the recipe I think I may have my own answer; I only used two medium eggs not large – maybe I should have put another one in???

4 thoughts on “Mary Berry’s Banana Loaf

  1. Have just put mine in oven but it’s in a silicone loaf dish and it looks like it’s spreading over the edge!!! I really must get a tin loaf dish !!!! Hope it tastes ok!!! Have you baked with silicone dishes??

    1. Yes I bake with silicone all the time but not always successfully. I do find that any of the fruit loaves are better in a tin loaf.
      Hopefully you used a 1lb tin and not the half tins – let us know if it tasted good!

Leave a Reply

